Manas Chakra

Sahasrara chakra
Guru chakra
Nirvana chakra
Indu chakra
Manas chakra
Ajna chakra
Lalana chakra
Vishuddha chakra
Anahata chakra
Hrit chakra
Manipura chakra
Swathisthana chakra
Muladhara chakra

The Tantric Lower Forehead Centre, called the Manas ("Mind") Chakra, is said to have six petals, which although normally white assume the colours of the senses when they operate (according to the Indian systems, in addition to the five physical senses, there is "mind" constitutes the sixth sense, which is not the same as Clairvoyance or "Sixth Sense"), and is black during sleep (unconsciousness).  Despite the overlap, the Manas chakra is not the same as the Manas tattwa.  It is associated with chitta, which represents consciousness or psyche in general, or even the subconscious and memory.

Chakra table 9


Terminology Tantric nada, manas, surya mandala
Vedic (late Upanishads) manas, mandala, jnananetra
Puranic not secified
Position above bindu pitha which is just above the pranava-bindu in ajna
Petals number six
colour normally white, but then assume sense colours (yellow, white, red, ash, and white) when senses operate, and become black in sleep
In the pericarp Chitta

referenceLayayoga - an Advanced Method of Concentration by Shyam Sundar Goswami, p.282.  colour grafix on this pageare from same book

Sixth Chakra

Associated minor chakras

Back of Head
upper forehead

major and minor Chakras

Kheper index page
Topics index page
Chakras index page

Kheper Home | Chakras Home | Topics Index | News and Events | Search

images not loading? | error messages? | broken links? | typos or spelling mistakes? | suggestions? | criticism?
contact me

page by M.Alan Kazlev
chakra image and table from Layayoga - an Advanced Method of Concentration by Shyam Sundar Goswami
Arrow link free JavaScripts provided by The JavaScript Source
page uploaded 24 May 1999, last modified 28 July 2004