The Anahata Chakra

Sahasrara chakra
Guru chakra
Nirvana chakra
Indu chakra
Manas chakra
Ajna chakra
Lalana chakra
Vishuddha chakra
Anahata chakra
Hrit chakra
Manipura chakra
Swathisthana chakra
Muladhara chakra

In Tantra, the Anahata ("Unstruck Note") chakra is said to have twelve petals of a red or white hue, while the central part is a smokey colour.  It is associated with the element or  tattwa of Air, and is the seat of the Divine Soul or Higher Self, the Jivatman, represented by the image of a motionless golden lamp-flame.

Deities within the Anahata Chakra

deities in the Anahata chakra
counterclockwise from the bottom: Vayu, Isha, Kakini

Chakra table 4


Terminology Tantric anahata, anahata-puri, padma-sundara, dwadasha, dwadashadala, suryasangkhyadala, hrit padma, hritpatra, hritpankeruha, hritsaroruha, hridambhoja, hridambuja, hridabja, hridaya, h'idayambhoja, hridayambuja, hridayasarasija, hridayabja, hridaya kamala, hritpankaja
Vedic (late Upanishads) anahata, hridaya chakra, dwadashara chakra, fourth chakra
Puranic anahata
Position externally, heart region
Petals number twelve, arranged from right to left
colour deep red, shining red, shining vermilion, yellow, dark blue-yellow, white
Matrika-letters on petals twelve in number; Kang Khang Gang Ghang Nang Chang Chang Jang Jhang Ñang Tang Thang, arranged from right to left
colour vermilion, deep red, shining red, white
Vrittis on petals twelve in number, arranged from right to left
name 1 lustfulness; 2 fraudulence; 3 indecision; 4 repentance; 5 hope; 6 anxiety; 7 longing; 8 impartiality; 9 arrogance; 10 incompetency; 11 discrimination; 12 an attitude of defiance
In the pericarp hexagonal 'air'-region
colour of the Air Region smoke-coloured, black
Air-bija in Air Region Yang
colour of Air-bija smoke-coloured
Form of Air-bija deity Vayu
Concentration form of Vayu Vayu is smoke-coloured; four-armed, holding an kusha; seated on a black antelope
In the bindu of Yang deity Isha
Concentration form of Isha Isha is shining white as pure crystal in colour; one-faced, or five-faced, three-eyed; two-armed, four-armed, or ten-armed; making the gestures of granting boons and dispelling fear; clad in tiger's skin or silken raiment
Presiding divinity power Kakini
Concentration of Kakini Kakini is shining yellow, shining red, moon-white or white in colour; one-faced, three-faced or six-faced; three-eyed; four-armed or two-armed; holding a noose and a skull; a trident, a drum, and a noose; a noose, a trident, a skull, and a drum; a skull and a trident; a trident, a bow, and a skull; the Veda; making the gestures of granting boons and dispelling fear; the gesture of dispelling fear; the gesture of granting boons; clad in white raiment, black raiment, or yellow raiment; seated in a red lotus
In the pericarp a triangle
colour of the triangle lightning-like, golden
Within the triangle Bana-linga
colour golden, shining red
In the pericarp Jivatman
Concentration form motionless flame of a lamp, shining gold colour

reference reference Layayoga - an Advanced Method of Concentration by Shyam Sundar Goswami, p.278-9.  colour plate above from same book.

Further Associations

Astrologically, there is no doubt that this centre corresponds to the Sun (although Ann Ree Colton makes the strange association that it is linked with Venus, perhaps because she wishes to reserve the sun for the "Tenth Chakra" [Kundalini West, p.298].  Colton reflects her Christian bias by locating "Jesus" in this chakra; in fact it is more likely that the Jesus-impulse is accessed through the front Heart chakra, not the rear will centre. Rudolph Steiner however associates the Sphere of the Sun spiritually with the "Cosmic Christ" or "Spirit of Form"; the Divine principle behind the Human Christ, and cosmic and human evolution.  In the Kabbalistic linear series of Sefirot, the Anahata/Sun Centre corresponds to the Sefirah of Tifaret, representing the first stage of the initiate or adept, in which one recieves revelation from one's Higher Self or "Holy Guardian Angel" (represented by Keter, the highest Sefirah).

According to Tibetan Buddhism, the white, eight-petalled Heart centre is the meeting place of the Red and White Drops, and the seat of the "Very Subtle Mind" and "Very Subtle Wind" that are immortal and pass from life-time to life-time [Amazon com Clear Light of Bliss, p. xxx]; equivalent to Ann Ree Colton's heart "permanent atom" [Amazon com Colton, The Third Music, p. xxx ].  The Tibetans also describe this centre as the seat of the Dharmakaya or Buddha-nature Truth-body, which is of the essence of Absolute Reality (in Hindu thought, the equivalent term would be the Paramatman or Supreme Self).

Kabbalistic sefirotIn Kabbalah, this Centre corresponds to Tifaret, located in the very Centre of the Tree, on the central pillar between Yesod and Daat.  An alternate, Medieval Jewish representation of the Tree has Tifaret connected by eight paths to the other sefirot [see left]; this recalls the eight spokes or petals of the Tibetan Heart-wheel.

In Taoism, this centre is located at the top of the central "Thrusting Channel", and is identified with the heart and the "House of Fire".  It is counterpole of the Lower Tan Tien or "House of Water", and the yogi is advised to shuttle the chi between these two centres, but not going above or below them [Amazon com Taoist Yoga - Alchemy and Immortality, pp. xxx ].  Note that in Tibetan Buddhism (influenced no doubt by Indian Tantra) it is the Navel Centre (a little above the Lower Tan Tein) that constitutes the "Fire" Centre.

Fourth Chakra

Associated minor chakras

Shoulder Blades

major and minor Chakras

Web links Links Web links

web page The Anahata Cakra according to the Satcakra-Narupana of Purnananda Swami (Translated by Arthur Avalon in The Serpent Power)

web page Anahata Chakra

web page Anahata Chakra - Alfred Ballabene (in German)

Kheper index page
Topics index page
Chakras index page

Kheper Home | Chakras Home | Topics Index | News and Events | Search

images not loading? | error messages? | broken links? | suggestions? | criticism?
contact me

page by M.Alan Kazlev
chakra image and table from Layayoga - an Advanced Method of Concentration by Shyam Sundar Goswami
Arrow link free JavaScripts provided by The JavaScript Source
page uploaded 29 November 1998, last modified 28 July 2004