The Sahasrara Chakra

the Sahasrara Chakra
the Sahasrara Chakra - the "Thousand petalled lotus"
Sahasrara chakra
Guru chakra
Nirvana chakra
Indu chakra
Manas chakra
Ajna chakra
Lalana chakra
Vishuddha chakra
Anahata chakra
Hrit chakra
Manipura chakra
Swathisthana chakra
Muladhara chakra

There is some disagreement among various traditional sources over whether the Sahasrara chakra or "thousand petaled lotus" is located at the crown point at the very top of the head, or at a distance above the head.  I have followed Shyam Sundar Goswami and Sri Aurobindo in locating it above the head, as oposed to Sir John Woodroffe (Arthuur Avalon) and the Theosophist C. W. Leadbeater who place it at the top of the head.

Chakra table 13


Terminology Tantric sahasrara, sahasrara padma, sahasrara mahapadma, sahasrara ambuja, sahasrara saroruha, sahasradala, sahasradala padma, pankaja, or kamala, sahasrachchada panikaja, sahasrabja, sahasrapatra, sahasradala adhomukha padma, adhomukha mahapadma, wyomambhoja, wyoma, shiras padma, amlana padma (or parikaja), dashashatadala padma, shuddha padma
Vedic (late Upanishads) sahasrara, sahasradala, sahasrara kamala (pankaja, or padma), sthana, kapalasamputa, wyomambuja, wyoma, akasha chakra
Puranic sahasrara, sahasradala, sahasrara kamala (parikaja, or padma), sahasrapatra, sahasraparna padma, shantyatita, shantyatita pada, parama
Position in void-region, as the upper part of the guru chakra
Petals number 1000, arranged from right to left, in 20 layers, each containing 50, and the arrangement of the petals gives the appearance of the sahasrara as bell-shaped
colour white, red, yellow, golden, changing colours of white, red, yellow, black and green
Matrika-letters on petals 50 in number in each layer: Ang to L(rh)ang or Kshang, arranged from right to left
colour petal-colour, or normal colour
Pericarp colour golden
In the pericarp

(see diagram below)

the circular moon-region
the luminous triangle (inside the moon-region)
ama-kala (inside the triangle)
ama-kala is subtle, shining in colour and crescent-shaped (in one-half coil)
nirvana-kala (inside ama-kala)
nirvana-kala is very subtle, shining red in colour, and crescent-shaped (in one-half coil)
nirodhika-fire (within nirvana-kala)
nirvana shakti (inside nirvana-kala)
nirvana shakti is extremely subtle, and shining red in colour
void (inside the triangle)
void is in the form of a circle and is the centre of Supreme Bindu
Visarga; its first point is just beyond ama-kala, and the second point is just below Supreme Bindu
Divine Sharikhini who is above the second point of Visarga, and extends from Supreme Bindu, passing through Supreme Nada, Shakti principle to Sakala Shiva in coils, and then is absorbed into Parama Shiva [the Absolute]

referenceLayayoga - an Advanced Method of Concentration by Shyam Sundar Goswami, pp.283-4.  large colour graphics on this pageare from same book

the Sahasrara system

Further Associations

The majority opinion seems to be that above the Crown or Nirvana Chakra are not one but several higher centres, which, like the inner mid-line centres, are not a part of the regular microcosmic orbit. Sri Aurobindo mentions only one, the Sahasrara.  Shyam Sundar Goswami [Laya Yoga] refers to two: the Guru Chakra, white in colour and possessing twelve petals, and the Sahasrara or Sahsradala Chakra, with a thousand petals, of golden or variable colour.  In the Radha Soami system however there are five higher chakras, the first being the Crown or Sahasrara centre, and each corresponding to a particular heaven region and inner or yogic sound (nada or shabda).  Ann Ree Colton speaks of five chakras above the Crown centre.  Whatever the number, all agree that these higher chakras represent varying degrees of transpersonal or higher spiritual Intuitive Divine Consciousness. Barbara Brennan refers to the highest point in this central chakra line the ID point or individuation point; located about a metre above the head, it represents our first individuation out of the void or unmanifest Godhead [Light Emerging, p.289].  This would be the same as Ann Ree Colton's "Eternal Sustaining Atom" or "Atma" located above the head as far as the arms can reach, and which constitutes the highest sphere of spiritual consciousness.  This is region of the superconscious principle and demiurgic hierarchies [Amazon com Colton, The Third Music, pp.85-6, 124, 132].

Sahasrara Chakra - showing colours
The 1000 petals of the Sahasrara, arranged in 20 layers, each containing 50 petals
and the arrangement of the petals giving (as a cross-section?) a bell-shaped appearance

Seventh Chakra

List of major and minor Chakras

Web links Links Web links

web page The Sahasrara according to the Satcakra-Narupana of Purnananda Swami (Translated by Arthur Avalon in The Serpent Power)

web page Sahasrara Chakra

web page Sahasrara Chakra - Alfred Ballabene (in German)

Kheper index page
Topics index page
Chakras index page

Kheper Home | Chakras Home | Topics Index | Esotericism | News and Events | Khepershop | Search

images not loading? | error messages? | broken links? | suggestions? | criticism?
contact me

page by M.Alan Kazlev
chakra image and table from Layayoga - an Advanced Method of Concentration by Shyam Sundar Goswami
Arrow link free JavaScripts provided by The JavaScript Source
page uploaded 29 November 1998, last modified 28 July 2004